facebook_event_1410618499226179District 25

The North Dakota 25th District Democratic Convention was held on March 2nd at North Dakota State College of Science in Wahpeton. District 25 endorsed a full slate of legislative candidates, delegates and alternate delegates to represent the district at the state convention in Fargo held March 28-29.

Judge Richard Grosz and Dr. Alisa Mitskog won endorsements for the North Dakota House of Representatives and Perry Miller was nominated for the North Dakota Senate Candidate.

Judge Grosz, a Wahpeton native, served in the United States Air Force from 1977 to 1981. He graduated with distinction from the University of Nebraska Law School in 1984. Following graduation, Grosz served as an Assistant City Attorney for Wahpeton, Fairmount, Hankinson & Lidgerwood, and as a City Prosecutor for Wahpeton. His legal work included serving as a public defender and Adjunct Professor at NDSU. He is a former partner of the Lies & Bullis Law firm and served 18 years as judge for the ND Southeast Judicial District, based in Wahpeton. Grosz is a member of Bethel Lutheran Church in Wahpeton.

Dr. Mitskog is a Wahpeton native and graduate of Wahpeton High, NDSCS, University of North Dakota and Logan College of Chiropractic in St. Louis, MO. Dr. Alisa has practiced Chiropractic for 25 years and co-owns Valley Spine Center (formerly Mitskog Chiropractic) in Wahpeton. Mitskog has served on the Wahpeton City Council since 2002 and currently chairs the Wahpeton Economic Development Commission. She also serves on the North Dakota League of Cities Executive Board, the Breckenridge-Wahpeton Community Foundation and NDSCS Catbackers.

Alisa is married to Allen Yaggie, a farmer from Breckenridge. Allen and Alisa have three daughters, Madison, Mackenzie and MiraBella. Mitskog and her family attend St. Johns Catholic Church in Wahpeton.

Miller grew up in rural Wahpeton and is a graduate of Wahpeton High, NDSCS and North Dakota State University. Miller is currently serving his third term as a Richland County Commissioner and serves on the Wahpeton Community Development Corporation, Richland County Job Development Authority, County Health Board and as chairman of the Richland-Wilkin Joint Powers Authority. Miller has served as chairman of the Center Township Board, NDSCS Alumni Foundation and President of the Wahpeton Area Chamber of Commerce.

Perry and his wife Denise own and operate a property management business. They have three children, Courtland, Carson & Abby. They are members of Bethel Lutheran Church in Wahpeton.


The Democratic-NPL has roots in the Progressive Era of American history. For more than 200 years, Democrats have represented the interests of working families, fighting for equal opportunities and justice for all Americans. The Nonpartisan League (NPL) was founded in North Dakota and eventually spread throughout the Midwest and Pacific Northwest during the Progressive Era and was briefly organized as a national party. It also spread northward into Canada, running in provincial elections and providing some of the basis for the Cooperative Commonwealth Federation in Saskatchewan and the Progressive Party of Canada.

The Nonpartisan League merged with the Democratic Party of North Dakota in 1956. Our party was founded on the conviction that wealth and privilege shouldn’t be an entitlement to rule and the belief that the values of hardworking families are the values that should guide us. We didn’t become the most prosperous country in the world by rewarding greed and recklessness or by letting those with the most influence write their own rules. We got here by rewarding hard work and responsibility, by investing in people, and by growing our country from the bottom up.

Today Democrats are fighting to repair a decade of damage and grow an economy based on the values of Main Street, not greed and reckless speculation. Democrats are focused on rescuing our economy not just in the short run but also rebuilding our economy for the long run—an economy that lifts up not just some Americans, but all Americans.